Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

COVID-19 Updates

Planning for the Fall Semester

As the University determines the best path forward for fall , our decisions are guided by the safety and welfare of our campus community and our goal of providing a quality educational experience for our students. We are committed to a thoughtful approach that is inclusive of the broader campus community, including students, faculty and staff.

The Fall Planning Task Force, co-chaired by Interim Provost Xuanning Fu and Vice President Debbie Adishian-Astone, has been charged with developing a plan for the fall semester based on public-health realities and projections in our region, in consultation with the Fresno County Department of Public Health, and following local, state and federal guidelines to protect the health and well-being of the entire campus community. 

Three workgroups have been formed to provide operational recommendations that would support the following areas:

  • Student Support, led by Dr. Carolyn Coon, interim vice president for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management, and D'Aungillique Jackson, ASI President.
  • Workforce Support, led by Marylou Mendoza-Miller, associate vice president for Human Resources, and Marsha Baum, associate vice president for Faculty Affairs.
  • Facilities and in-person activities, led by Tinnah Medina, associate vice president for Facilities Management, and Dr. Denise Seabert, dean of the College of Health and Human Services.

Guiding Principles:

  • Ensure that our campus and facilities provide a safe and healthy environment for our students, faculty and staff.
  • Uphold Fresno State's mission, values and signature standards of excellence by providing outstanding educational experiences and steady academic progression for students.
  • Act consistently with our Principles of Community.
  • Continue serving as responsible stewards of public and private funding.

Fall Planning Task Force

  • Xuanning Fu, Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs (Co-Chair)
  • Debbie Adishian-Astone, Vice President for Administration and Chief Financial Officer (Co-Chair) 
  • Bryan Berrett, Director, Center for Faculty Excellence
  • Carolyn Coon, Interim Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management
  • Melissa Gibson, Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance
  • D'Aungillique Jackson, ASI President
  • Ray Hall, Physics, Chair, Academic Senate 
  • Tinneke Van Camp, Criminology, Vice Chair, Academic Senate
  • Kevin Ayotte, Communication, Chair of Chairs
  • Robert Guinn, Deputy Chief Information Officer
  • Jim Marshall, Dean, Division of Research and Graduate Studies
  • Tinnah Medina, Associate Vice President for Facilities Management
  • Chris Meyer, Dean, College of Science and Mathematics
  • Ram Nunna, Dean, Lyles College of Engineering
  • Randy Perry, Professor, Jordan College of Agricultural Sciences and Technology
  • Denise Seabert, Dean, College of Health and Human Services
  • Georgianna Negron-Long, Chair, Joint Labor Council
  • Terry Tumey, Director of Athletics
  • Monique Beeler, Interim Assistant Vice President for University Communications
  • Randy Yerrick, Dean, Kremen School of Education and Human Development
  • Marylou Mendoza-Miller, Associate Vice President for Human Resources 
  • Marsha Baum, Associate Vice President for Faculty Affairs